Main Menu

Bassdrumpedal(s)

Started by Thenop, July 13, 2024, 06:43:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thenop

So... I am at a point where I need to get a new pedal. Do I need it? Well, yes I need a bassdrumpedal obviously... Do I have a pedal? Yes, 3 actually. 1 single that is no good for what I do currently (but served me well in the past) and 2 double pedals. A Pearl Demonator P932, which is a middle class one that I use at home with the Roland E kit. That serves it purpose. However, It would not be a goof fit if I played a real kit, in the practice room, ons stage or in the studio. I need something a bit more advanced, smoother and relaxed to play.

Bit of history:
When I started playing, the first kit I bought was an old Rogers, I mentioned it before. It had 2 Ludwig Speed King pedals, these are the originals when it comes to professional pedalling. They are direct drive pedals. The other options are a nylon strap (usually for cheaper pedals) or chain drive.
Those pedals were OLD and worn down, so I needed new ones. I bought 2 Jacques Chapelle pedals. Novelty things, turned out to be way to fancy for me being a regular double bassdrum player. So when I sold the kit, I threw those in as well. I bought a Tama Rockstar Pro, back then the 2nd fanciest series they had. With 2 bassdrums, because everybody had that (Lars Ulrich, Scott Rockenfield, Dave Lombardo and may more). With that I bought 2 Camco pedals, these were nice! Fast and accurate chain driven pedals, Nothing fancy, just reliable workhorses.
But time went on, we started giggin a lot more and those 2 bassdrums were just a nightnamre to drag around, tuned right and even fitting them onto a stage was difficult.
Enter: the Double Bassdrumpedal. And I thought immediately, we are playing a lot I need something good, something that lasts. DW5000 was the way to go, they set me back 1200 guilders, which was a fortune in 1992 for me. A real fortune but I figured it was worth it. And it was.